Posted in How to, miniatures, Room box

In Defense of Egg Carton Masonry

There are many ways to create the look of stone in miniature. The first one I learned was the trash-to-treasure use of egg cartons. I’ve continued using it because:

  • It is cheap and available
  • It can be torn or cut into any shape
  • It is just paper mache and when damp can be molded over shapes
  • It worked for my Peachstone Cottage when I returned to miniatures seven years ago and it still works for me.

This week’s task was to add dimension to the front entry of my room box. I like the way the different planes of the façade add subtle interest. The Hill House has a squared arch leading to the front door built with large limestone blocks that match the window frame.

I chose wood for the framework, so my first stop was my giving basement. There were several options on the bottom row, so I pulled them out and auditioned them on the room box.

I circled the leading contenders. The posts are of the one on the right and the beam across the top is the one on the left. I cut the pieces to length and for added strength attached them with glue and screws. Counter sinking the screw heads ensures that they won’t show after applying the egg carton.

To achieve the stone block look, I wrapped sections of egg carton horizontally. The carton material is stiff, so I glued them one side at a time for a secure fit.

White or wood glue works best. The carton absorbs the moisture out of the glue, so you need to use a wetter glue. I held it in place with an abundance of clamps one side at a time. This is where you need some distraction. Glue a side, clean the kitchen. Bend the carton around, glue and clamp; go to the market. Bend, glue and clamp and make some mini flowers. You get the idea. Then I used the same gluing process for the beam.

Once the carton was applied and dry, I took my medium ball stylus and traced over the joints. I sealed it with a coat of gesso and a coat of clear sealer.

I gave the arch a base coat of maple sugar color, then created the faux stone with several washes of very thin paint including ivory, jute, hippo gray and raw Sienna. once I was happy with the finish I sealed it with matte ModPodge. In the end-of-the-day light, my color looks a little off, so I might make some adjustments, but again, egg cartons win the day.

Just like the actual Hill House, varying the different planes on the façade adds interest. Questions? Comments? Just scroll down to the form.

There was a lot of tension this week due to the elections here in the US. But a week later, we have a path to normalcy and minimum chaos. The international support for the result is heartwarming. Thank you and stay safe.

Author:

I’m a Californian living in Washington State. But home is where my miniatures are.

4 thoughts on “In Defense of Egg Carton Masonry

  1. Your work is awesome. I’ve been reluctant to use egg carton just because I’ve use it. Perhaps I’ve explained to you that we have hens so I save cartoon to store the eggs and to sell a couple of dozen now and then. Still, you get such good results with yours. I should try them on the base of my next house.

Comments are closed.