Posted in dollhouse, miniatures

Christmas at the Peachstone Cottage

This has been a trying, heart wrenching year for sure. My bubble is just my husband and me as our four children are in four different cities spread among four different states, but thankfully we are all doing well. Fortunately, since my hobby is miniatures, I have a world wide virtual bubble with the nicest, most generous and creative people.

Before I met you, I stumbled around on my own, building the Peachstone Cottage. I can’t really call it finished, but it has given me years of pleasure, which inspires me to say the sun always shines on the Peachstone Cottage. This year I thought it was appropriate to celebrate Christmas there.

The Cottage started life as the 2013 HBS Creatin’ Contest Charming Cottage. I made it kind of an English cottage style bungalow popular in the US in the 1920s. I built the fireplace with a niche for a vase of flowers. After my family helped me choose the name, Peachstone Cottage, my sister sent me a real carved peach stone basket. It turned out that our great grandfather had carved it, and it fit perfectly in the niche. I love the serendipity.

If I were to start on the cottage today, I would probably do many things differently, but I’d like to finish it according to my original plan, hopefully next year. I made the wall sconces using jewelry findings and acrylic flower beads. These lights, the ceiling light and a plug are configured with their own switch and battery so the room can be controlled independent of the others. The fireplace firebox has its own switch and battery.

I had discovered Ann Vanture of Paper Minis, now DIY Doll Accessories, and purchased her wallpaper assortment. Some of the gifts under the tree are also hers. I described earlier how I made Tuttie, the puppy and the poinsettias. The cottage makes a cozy setting for Christmas.

The two of us will be having our real life celebration in our own real life bungalow. Our put-together-family members have been mailing and receiving packages to and from locations in the Western US. I’m meeting one daughter halfway between our two cities in Oregon to exchange one more box of gifts. The rest will take place using Zoom and FaceTime. It’s different, there will be no hugs, but we are all healthy and looking forward to the new normal in 2021.

Real life Christmas tree detail. Fabric Danish star by my daughter.

Please take care and be creative in making this a Merry Christmas.

Author:

I’m a Californian living in Washington State. But home is where my miniatures are.

2 thoughts on “Christmas at the Peachstone Cottage

  1. Is any project ever finished? Each one of my houses needs a touch up or do-over spot or “I need to finish that” such a the roof on the Bellingham, along with the trim. One of these days. The Peachstone is a sweet cottage and looks perfect. Merry Christmas, Sherrill.

Comments are closed.