Posted in dollhouse, miniatures

As Promised

A few weeks ago I posted that I was working on some projects that I would tell you about later. Well, I can tell you about one of the projects now.

My main project for the past year has been the Hill House room box. To help capture the details I’ve been following the real life Hill House IG account. Once the lockdowns were lifted in Scotland, I noticed that they had put out a sandwich board sign announcing seating in their rooftop cafe. I thought something like that would be fun for my model and made a mini one. I was pleased with the way my sign turned out and thought it would be a fun tutorial for American Miniaturist.

Here is a sneak peek at my tutorial. It is in issue 218, starting on page 72. I’m sure you will want to see the other fun projects and articles too, so if you are not yet a subscriber, and would like to be, click here.

I’ve also been involved with another little project – this time for the miniatures club. Remember my last post when I showed my grandson and me making birdhouses? I shared them with our club members and they thought birdhouses would make a fun club project.

I wanted to scale it down a bit, and revisited some great birdhouse examples. Sure enough, these are smaller. They use a 1/2” square dowel.

I went into production cutting little house shapes with pointy tops on them. I started with 45-degree angles and then went to the slightly more advanced 60-degree angles. I also made some platforms, bases and posts.

So cute, but I’m going to have to leave you hanging again. Our meeting isn’t until August 2nd.

Author:

I’m a Californian living in Washington State. But home is where my miniatures are.

6 thoughts on “As Promised

  1. While they look pretty simple to build, these tiny birdhouses can be quite a challenge. Yours are so cute, I just may be tempted to make some for that large garden that is taking shape in my head. Here, we do have birdhouses stuck all over the place, including a giant one in a very tall pine tree that my husband built then hoisted up into the top of the tree, hoping that the Great Horned Owls that haunt our nights might like to nest there. So far no takers. And your sandwich board is very cool. I may need to followed your directions to redo mine that has fallen apart. Thank you for inspiring new ideas.

    1. Ann, the roof angles are the tricky part. I just may have to do a tutorial on that part. Once I figured it out, I was able to mass produce them. I can wait to see the garden in your head, lol 😂.

  2. Absolutely adorable sign and I can’t wait to read the tutorial!
    I love making bird houses! The mailbox on the Storybook Cottage and on Three Little Pigs are bird houses with opening lids and flags. Bet the girls would love one of those for Peachstone Cottage!

    1. Aww… thanks for thinking of my little dolls. I’m sure they will enjoy creating scenes with birdhouses, but that means I’ll have to make one for each doll – five birdhouses!

Comments are closed.